Bars & Restos / Geneva

Doing the Fondue.

For F’s cousin’s wife’s birthday (that’s quite a mouthful, isn’t it?), we celebrated in the ‘Swissest’ way possible – by having fondue. The last time I had fondue at Chamonix, I have to admit that I was not that impressed. I considered myself more of a raclette kind of girl. However, the fondue and the atmosphere at La Buvette des Bains made me change my mind – a little bit (I would still trade fondue over a good steak any day! Once a carnivore, always a carnivore, en fait).

La Buvette des Bains is a restaurant located right next to the Bains de Pâquis, where you can have a shower in whatever special way your heart desires. Personally, I am vying for the hammam – if they’re anything like they are in Morocco, I know I’ll come out feeling shiny and new (but way more than Madonna did in the 80s).

The cool things about La Buvette is that it’s located right in the center of Lake Geneva! In the summer there’s open seating outside but now that it’s more chilly the inside seating is the most lively, heated by the fire of these furnace-looking contraptions.

Having fondue means nothing more than the dipping of small pieces of bread into a large melting pot of cheese and enjoying. Wine is said to help with digestion but after the wine-filled afternoon we had just had at Peissy, I opted for some mint tea. It was so comforting; it reminded me of the tea my Moroccan host mom used to make back in Rabat.

A word of caution: If you’re having fondue, stay away from cold drinks as they’re supposed to ball up the melted cheese in your stomach and make it hard to digest! Otherwise, dip away.

photo (1)

Leave a Reply

