Bars & Restos / Geneva

Wood-Fired Pizza: You’ll Never Look Back

A long time ago, F and I were taking a stroll through the city and got a sudden craving for pizza. Carouge, just outside of Geneva, was allegedly founded by an Italian man, so I figured that all of the good pizza would be limited to that area.

Wrong!

Good pizza thrives in Eaux-Vives, in a modest establishment located about one block north of the Jet D’Eau. F had been there with some colleagues from work and thought I would like it so we went to check it out. Dinner at the Restaurant Le Jet D’Eau, named after its almost neighbor, begins promptly at 6:30 p.m.

From the outside.

From the outside.

Our table and the menu.

Our table and the menu.

Directly to your right, after you walk in, is the wood oven where the pizzas are made, friendly chubby-cheeked chef and all. F and I sat down, put in our orders, and in no time our wood-fired pizzas were brought to us. F got a delicious four cheese pizza (so much ricotta!) and I chose one with tomato, eggplant, and the freshest bits of basil that I’ve had in a while. If you can’t shut up about how good the food you’re eating is, then I’d say that’s a great sign.

Yummmmm.

This picture does not do it justice.

Other pizza places that I have been told are also very good:

Espresso Club, in Pâquis, and Luigia.

They’re next on my list!

“You better cut the pizza in four pieces

because I’m not hungry enough to eat six.”

– Yogi Berra

Leave a Reply

