Geneva

The (Humanitarians) and the (Sea): Sailing in Versoix

One of my new colleagues started hosting an annual sailing trip two years ago. This year, I was lucky enough to have it fall on the Friday of my first week on-the-job. Knowing when and where it would be, we all brought goodies to munch on during our outing – wine (of all colors: verde, red, white, rosé), corn cakes, crackers, goat cheese, grapes AND ETC. (so. much. food.)

We all left the office together at around 5 p.m. and arrived in Versoix (just north of Geneva) at about 5:30. At 6, we took the boat and quickly set sail.  It looked as though we were going to have to cancel the trip; it had been raining the day before and that day it was grey and cloudy almost all day but somehow the sky cleared up just enough to let us to have a lovely bonding experience on Lake Geneva, which I’ve come to appreciate very much.

Sometimes we would go “starboard” and others we would go “port” (right and left, in sailor jargon), although I was never sure which one (droite and gauche still trip me up!). Nonetheless, our expert sailor-colleague was able to lead us all so well that we all collectively helped to not only steer the sailboat, but bring it back to the port and put all of its individual parts away before we headed back home. That’s a good day in my book.

Ying and yang.

Ying and yang.

Oscar-like selfie with the 'crew'

Oscar-like selfie with the ‘crew’

"I hate storms, but calms undermine my spirits." - Barnard Moitessier

“I hate storms, but calms undermine my spirits.” -Barnard Moitessier

My colleague teaches others to sail at the Centre Nautique Moby-Dick, for anyone who may be interested.

Leave a Reply

