Switzerland

Cream on Cream… on Cream!

I don’t really consider myself an ‘ice cream person’, per say (I love chocolate of all kinds and yet I don’t really like chocolate ice cream, for instance). F, on the other hand, will devour a pint of Ben & Jerry’s in one sitting. I treat myself to a small portion of Ben & Jerry’s Cookie Dough ice cream every now and again but I truly believe Mövenpick Ice Cream blows Ben & Jerry’s right of the water (sorry, not sorry!).

Even after having gelato in Italy and beyond, Edy’s, Häagen-Dazs, and the world-reknowned Magnum ice cream bar, these all paled in comparison to Mövenpick (There is an exquisite ice cream shop in Lisbon that I liked very much but I’ll leave that for another post). My all-time favorite is Mövenpick’s Double Crème de la Gruyère & Meringues ice cream. Every spoonful is saturated with creamy vanilla goodness, an almost grainy meringue crunch, and hints of sweet caramel.

The king of ice creams.

The king of ice creams.

Gruyère cheese actually originated in Switzerland and this ice cream flavor was inspired by a beloved Swiss dessert made with the two star ingredients: Double Gruyere Cream and Meringues. No baking or intense preparation necessary – simply pick up some double Gruyere cream from the store (warning: this is more fattening than a serving of Nutella!) and a pack of meringues, put a meringue (or two, if you’re feeling decadent) in a bowl, crush it into small pieces with your spoon, mix it in with a few spoonfuls of double Gruyere cream and enjoy!

The ingredients.

The ingredients.

This was taken during round two - with not as much cream left :P

This was taken during round two – with not as much cream left 😛

3 thoughts on “Cream on Cream… on Cream!

  1. Yummy! I’ll have to try this Double Crème & Meringues ice cream from Mövenpick. Great that you added the traditional recipe – it really seems easy to accomplish 😃.

    I also love gelati italiani and ice cream in general. Despite this year’s bad weather, my favourite was Häagen-Dazs’ Secret Sensations chocolat fondant… mmmmhhh! 🍫🍦

    • I hope you like it, Luigi! And I’ll have to give that Häagen-Dazs ice cream a shot, too. Do they sell it at Migros or Coop? I haven’t actually seen that brand around.

      • I’m sure I will Claudia! I buy the pack of 4 small pots at Migros in Valthoiry, France. Not sure whether they are available in Switzerland… The ice cream season is nearly over, we have to hurry 😉😄

Leave a Reply

